NEW YEAR: BUCKETLIST

Happy New Year everyone! I haven’t posted in a while due to being busy spending time with friends and family over the holidays. But I’m back with a brand new post for a brand new year! Im determined to make 2017 a good year for me, not because 2016 was a particularly bad year but lets just say it wasn’t the best, so here is my bucket list of things i want to do and achieve in the next 365 days. Disclaimer; this will probably be a very long post so be prepared, as i pour my inspirations and motivations into one place.

Im going to split my so-called ‘bucket list’ into 3 sections; Future, Health and Travel. The 3 main things i want to achieve and change in the next year. I also hope some of my goals will help to inspire you to have a happy and healthy 2017, so lets get started!

FUTURE

Lets start with the future. Im 18, so my future is a pretty important aspect of my life right now.

• Happiness:

15894679_1476658615685411_2635398786431000977_n

 

It sounds super cliche, but this year i want to focus on my happiness. Not because i am not a happy person, i really really am. But i feel like i need to focus more time and energy on me and doing things that make me feel happy. 2016 was a rollercoaster of ups and downs. One minute i was super happy, and the next i was’nt. I am determined to make 2017 a happy year full of great memories. This co-insides with my health, as i know becoming healthier will add to me feeling better within myself.

• Relationships:

15909629_1470634536287819_621605272_n

This is another thing that contributes towards my happiness. As i feel my relationships with people can really affect how i feel. This year i am focusing on spending time with people who make me feel more positive, as i believe that distributing positive energy into the world, will allow me to receive positive energy back. (Super cringy i know!) Therefore, the people i spend my time with can really affect how i feel. 2016 definitely taught me that you should only put your time and effort into people who really want the best for you, and who influence your mood in a positive way. Following on from this, i want to spend 2017 appreciating the genuine people i have around me.

• Career:

I am 18. To many people that age will sound so young with many years ahead of me. But since i was young, 18 has always sounded so old and mature, with everything figured out. 2016 has taught me that i do not actually know what i want to be when i am older, and there is nothing wrong with that. Although I spent many years throughout school being told that i need to know what career path i want if i’m going to be successful in life, i now know that i actually don’t need to have my life planned out just yet, and i am ok with that. Ive spent so long trying to figure out how my life is going to pan out, and for once, i actually don’t know. I hope 2017 will be the year of figuring things out, and as Kylie Jenner said about 2016… ‘realising things’. If that leads to me knowing what degree i want to do at university, what job i want to have in 5 years time, or if it leads me to something completely different, i know that i am ok with that. I am ok with not knowing. And, surprisingly, it actually feels quite good.

Health

Health is another important aspect of my life that i want to change in 2017.

Healthy eating: Like i said previously, i am 18. I am a teenager, or a ‘young adult’. I like to eat food that isn’t particularly good for me, and spend time with my friends where junk food is often the main priority. In 2016 i had re-occuring bouts of healthy eating. One month i would be so motivated to eat healthily, with no junk food or fizzy drinks or takeaways. But that wouldn’t last very long as before i knew it i would be sat with my friends eating a Chinese and watching Netflix. However, this year i want to focus on eating healthier not only to help me lose a little weight, but to make my body stronger and healthier in the long run. So, out go the carbs and in come the veggies, yum!

Exercise: Believe it or not, i actually enjoy exercise. I have had a gym membership since September, and i started exercising regularly back in May. But as healthy living is on my bucket list, and exercise is a part of that, i thought i would add this in here just for  little inspo to actually get my butt back into the gym after all of that christmas indulging!

Hair:

15909913_1470634566287816_243037423_n

I know this is a bit of a weird one, as hair isn’t really related to health. But this year i want to go blonder. Recently i dyed my hair from a very dark shade of brunette, to a balayage style blonde. And as this is a new year, i feel i need to branch out and try new things, so why not get a completely different hairstyle! Hopefully 2017 will be the year i actually pluck up the courage to dye my whole head blonde, as its something ive wanted to do for such a long time now! Also, id like to find the time this year to actually take care of my hair, even if that means using 23682 different products on it to make it healthy.

TRAVEL

15910369_1470635089621097_1573451814_n

Finally, i feel like the biggest part of my 2017 bucket list is to travel. This year i want to explore the world. Travelling has always been something i have liked the thought of, but ive never actually looked into to. Hopefully at the end of this year, or very early 2018, me and one of my closest friends will be setting off to travel the world! Eeeeeek, scary i know. This is probably one of the biggest goals i have for this year, to actually book the flights and set off. But i also have other places i want to visit this year aswell, including all of the places i am hoping to travel to.

London: This isn’t a majorly exciting place for many, and honestly i can see why. But, as i am from England i feel like i should really take the time to visit its capital city, right? I mean i have been to London a few times when i was younger, but i never really took any of the sites in. So this year i would love to go back to this city and visit everywhere ‘touristy’. Also, London is the ideal place to go shopping and that is one of my favourite hobbies so it seems like a perfect match.

Things to do-

  • Go on the London Eye
  • Visit Buckingham Palace
  • Madame Tussauds
  • Visit Camden Market
  • Oxford Street
  • See ‘The Shard’

855e5cab829268e49eaad8dd2ca33861

 

Brighton: Ive wanted to go to Brighton for quite a while now, no not because loads of youtubers live there, but because it honestly looks like a beautiful place. I live near the seaside and there is nothing i love more than beaches and picturesque views, and Brighton seems to have it all. From the pier to the lanes, Brighton is the ideal place for someone like me who LOVES to take way too many pictures.

Things to do-

  • Walk along Brighton Pier
  • Visit the Marina
  • Go to Stanmer Park
  • Walk through The Lanes

brighton-004

• Amsterdam: I LOVE Amsterdam. It looks like the most beautiful city ever. The food, the canals, the sites to see, just everything about this place pulls me in. I desperately want to visit the Van Gogh Museum and take a tour of the Anne Frank House.

Things to do-

  • Visit Van Gogh Museum
  • Visit Anne Frank House
  • Go to Dam Square
  • Take a canal ride

1400-visit-to-amsterdam-canals-imgcache-rev1438021140520-web

New York: This city amazes me. Im not 100% sure if i would actually visit New York in the next year as I’m 18 and don’t quite have the expenses to do so. But, WOW, New York. I would love to visit New York during the winter, and experience the rush of the city life. Honestly i have no words to describe how amazing it seems and how desperately i want to go there.

Things to do-

  • Visit Times Square
  • Visit Central Park
  • Watch a broadway show
  • Go to the Empire State Building
  • Take a picture of the Statue of Liberty
  • Go to the Rockefeller Center
  • Visit Coney Island
  • Botanical Garden

1e6bc8769b29648bf9098fac68c481b91ece3a7fea18f23b1518413ef6660bb6

California: I went to California in 2015 and it was the most beautiful place i have ever visited. The sun, the beaches, the palm trees. I LOVE California! I would definitely want to go there again some time soon, as it is a super fun state and the food there is A-M-A-ZING. Also, at some point in my life i would love to live there, whether its just for 6 months, or years. Theres something about California that i absolutely adore.

Things to do-

  • Visit Disneyland
  • Visit Universal Studios
  • Hike to the Hollywood Sign
  • Walk the Hollywood Walk of Fame (again)
  • Visit Huntington Beach
  • Visit Santa Monica
  • Take a sightseeing tour
  • Visit ‘The Grove’

15941967_1470634599621146_2047540816_n

Australia: Is is even considered travelling if you don’t visit Aus?! This is the number one place i am super excited to visit when i go travelling. Australia looks like the most beautiful and fun country ever. I can’t wait to experience the heat, the wildlife and the activities. From the Golden Coast, to Perth and Byron Bay, it is definitely going to be the trip of a lifetime. When in Aus, i am hoping to visit Sydney, Brisbane, Cairns, Melbourne and Perth.

Things to do-

  • Surfing on Bondi Beach
  • Sydney Bridge climb
  • Visit Stradbroke Island
  • Visit Currumbin wildlife sanctuary
  • Explore the Great Barrier Reef
  • Visit Fitray Islands

16a830b63c27948e90a3af7f8decc873.jpg

Thailand: Another place me and my friend are looking to travel to is Thailand. Bangkok to be precise. This city looks incredible. The history and architecture is one thing, but also the culture. I can’t wait to tick Thailand off my bucket list and explore this other part of the world.

Things to do-

  • Visit the Grand Palace
  • Explore different temples
  • Ride a Tuk Tuk
  • Visit a floating market

pbk-landing-leaderboard-1280

Thats it for my 2017 bucket list, i tried to keep it as minimal and short as possible, otherwise i could ramble on for pages and pages! Hopefully this may have given you some motivation or inspiration for your 2017!

Leave a comment